Employment

Getting Started

Are You Looking for a Job? Don't go it alone.
Contact the employment and training division of West Central Missouri Community Action Agency in Cass County. They will help you focus your job search using the Missouri Career Source, provide you with career counseling, equip you with the training necessary to enhance your job seeking skills and qualifications, and will connect you with the resources offered by the Full Employment Council.
 

Databases

Job & Career Accelerator logo

Job & Career Accelerator - Create a resume, cover letter, and begin your job search. Library & Home Use
 
Learning Express - Interactive resource has over 300 online professional licensing practice tests including Nursing, Fire Fighter and Police. Library & Home Use
 

Career Guidance

Web Sites

CareerOneStop: Licensed Occupations - Find out about occupational licensing requirements in each state.
College.gov - Created by the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides information about planning, preparing and paying for postsecondary education (such as 2- or 4-year colleges and universities, and vocational or career schools).
Full Employment Council (FEC) in Cass County - Agency that provides job searching assistance, career preparation and job/career training.
Mapping Your Future - Provides career, college, financial aid, and money management information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - For hundreds of different types of jobs, learn the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.
Kansas City Job Seekers Blog - Track job fairs and get information about how to network professionally in the region.

Job Listings

Web Sites

Career Toolbox: 100+ Places to Find a Job - A massive collection  of employment sites roughly catagorized by industry or applicant type.
Craigslist - Peruse the classifieds on Craigslist for positions that won't show up on the metasearch sites.
Indeed.com - Search and capture jobs collated from all the major job boards, professional associations, newspapers, and the employment pages of major corporations.
Jobster - Jobster pulls in classifieds from a variety of sites and allows users to upload resumes it makes available for employer searches.
RealMatch - Fill in the title of the job you want, enter your search radius, and upload your resume, all for free.  You can block youself from being searched by your current employer.
Simply Hired - Use this job search engine to scour the web for classifieds.

Job Skills

Database

Mango logo image
Mango Languages - Mango's language learning system focuses on teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages. Each lesson combines real-life situations and audio from native speakers with an easy-to-follow interface and simple, clear instructions. Mango Basic offers Arabic, Chinese, Dari, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Pashto, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Urdu, Vietnamese, ESL French, ESL Italian, ESL German, ESL Russian, ESL Mandarin Chinese, ESL Cantonese Chinese, ESL Japanese, ESL Greek, ESL Arabic, ESL Korean, and ESL Vietnamese. Mango Complete, for students who want to learn beyond the basics, offers Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, French, German, Italian, Greek, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, ESL for Polish speakers, ESL for Spanish speakers, and ESL for Brazilian Portuguese speakers.  Library & Home Use

Typing and Ten Key

TypingWeb - Register for free to track your progress in this professional-looking set of typing tutorials.
Learn2Type - Create a free personal account to track your touch-typing success on this site.
Sense-Lang Online Free Touch Typing Program - Learn the QWERTY standard PC Keyboard or the DVORAK format.  Also take 10-key lessons and play typing games.
Free Ten Key Number Pad Course - Eight exercises to get you 10-keying in no time.

Microsoft Word

Microsoft Excel

Microsoft Outlook

Learn Spanish

Study Spanish - Users can register for free to take tests and register grades on this site.
LiveMocha - Graphical language courses in return for free registration, along with the opportunity to pair up with native speakers online.

Learn English

Interesting Things for ESL Students - Interactive learning for English as a Second Language students.
ESL Cafe: For Students - Helpful links for students of English, including tests, a site that helps with pronunciation, and a forum.
English Club - Portal for English-language learners.  There are resources for teachers as well as students.
Activities for ESL Students - Simple, plain quizzes and exercises offered by teachers to improve the skills of English learners.
Advanced English Lessons - Those who wish to sharpen their grammatical skills in English can take tests and read tutorials on the finer points of gerunds and conditionals.

Writing Tips

Test Your Email IQ - Sensible tips for business email such as making sure to include a subject line, keeping the note short, and checking spelling and grammar.
Spellchecker: Online Spell Check Form - Users can type or paste paragraphs into this online utility for grammar and spell-checking.

Telephone Etiquette


Relocating, Salaries & Cost of Living

Web Sites

Cost of Living Calculator - Calculate how far your salary will go in another city.
Currency Exchange Rates - View current and historic exchange rates for currency around the world.
Financial Calculators - Calculate your housing affordability, mortgage size, savings, credit card balance duration, business ratios and more.
Measuring Worth - Service for calculating relative worth over time.
Salary Calculator - Calculate the appropriate salary for your job based on location.

Resumes & Cover Letters

Database 

Job & Career Accelerator logo

Job & Career Accelerator - Create a resume, cover letter, and begin your job search. Library & Home Use
 
CareerOneStop: Resumes, Cover Letters, & Job Interviews - Provides advice on creating a resume, writing cover letters, and interviewing.
How to Write a Masterpiece of a Resume - This guide to resume writing offers examples, format choices, help writing the objective, the summary and other sections, as well as samples of excellent resume writing.
Resumes: Creative Job Search - Short guide to writing a resume from the Creative Job Search guide provided by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development.