Health

Databases 

Consumer Health Complete button image
Consumer Health Complete - A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Library & Home Use
 
Medline logo image
MEDLINE - MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical citations on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Library & Home Use 

Associations & Agencies

Websites

Alzheimer's Association - The Alzheimer’s Association is the leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer care, support and research.
American Diabetes Association - The American Diabetes Association is a nonprofit health organization that provides diabetes research, information and advocacy.
American Heart Association - The American Heart Association is a national voluntary health agency to help reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Provides information on health and safety topics for consumers, data and statistics, and more.
Cass County Health Rankings - Compare the overall  health of Cass County with the health of other counties in the state and compare the factors that contribute to health, such as obesity rates, the quality of health care, or high school graduation rates.
Hospital Directory - The U.S. News/American Hospital Association Directory provides key information on over 5,000 hospitals nationwide.
National Cancer Institute - This site provides cancer-related information on a wide range of topics as well as comprehensive descriptions of our research programs and clinical trials.
National Center for Health Statistics FastStats - Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) - The NIH is the primary federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.

Drugs & Medicine

Websites

DailyMed - DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts).
Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products - Includes a clinical summary for each agent and details about constituents, adverse effects, interactions, and potential benefits or problems. From the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.
MayoClinic.com - Medical and health information from the Mayo Clinic, a not-for-profit medical practice.
MedlinePlus - Health and medical information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
RxList - Provides detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.
WebMD - Health and drug information.

Nutrition

Websites

FamilyDoctor.org - Health information from the American Academy of Family Physicians.
Food and Nutrition Information Center - Food and human nutrition information from the National Agricultural Library.
HealthFinder.gov - Health information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
MedlinePlus - Health and medical information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
National Women's Health Information Center - Federal government source for women's health information.
Nutrient Data Labratory - Get nutrient information for food.
Nutrient.gov - Provides government information on food and human nutrition.

Support for Home Caregivers

Websites

Caregiver.org - The website of the Family Caregiver Alliance offers several fact sheets and publications covering caregiving issues and strategies.
Caregiving.org - Tools, tips, and training for caregivers.
Strengthforcaring.com - Offers a resource center as well as networking “Share Your Story” and “Meet Other Caregivers” support bulletin boards.