History

 

Local History

Websites

Cass County Historical Society - Information about the society's sponsored events, the Margaret Wade Archives, the Sharp-Hopper Cabin and other historical sites, and an index of Cass County obituaries.
History of Cass County - The history of Cass County, Missouri in Wikipedia.

United States History

Websites

All About Missouri History - This site has information about Missouri history from the Missouri State Archives.
American Civil War Resources - This is a directory of websites about the American Civil War. Topics include the Secession Crisis, Images of Wartime, Documentary Records, State/Local Studies, Battles & Campaigns, Rosters & Regimental Histories, Other Military Information, Civil War Reenactors, Civil War Round Tables, and Fictional Accounts of Wartime.
American Memory from the Library of Congress - The Library of Congress has online collections of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience through history.
American President - This is a comprehensive collection of material about the Presidents of the United States and the history of the presidency. This web site features essays about the President's life before, during, and after each presidential term. It also provides information about the First Lady and cabinet officials of each administration.
Biography.com - This site contains biographies of over 25,000 people.
Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents - This is a timeline of significant documents from the pre-colonial era to the present.
National Women's History Museum - This is a nonpartisan, nonprofit educational institution dedicated to preserving, interpreting, and celebrating the diverse historic contributions of women, and integrating this rich heritage fully into our nation's history.
Our Documents - This online collection contains 100 milestone documents of American history, including the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Louisiana Purchase Treaty, and the Missouri Compromise.
Price of Freedom: Americans at War - This is an online exhibit and timeline of American wars provided by the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.
Rutger Oral History Archives - This contains records of the personal experiences of the men and women who served on the home front and overseas during World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War and the Cold War. It is based on in-depth interviews of individuals who lived through these conflicts.
This Day in History - This site lets readers view significant events that took place on any day of the year.
U.S. Army Center of Military History - This site has information about the military history of the U.S. Army.
USHistory.org - This site contains information about the Revolutionary and Colonial eras of American history.

World History

Websites

Background Notes - This site provides facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty provided by the U.S. Department of State.
CIA World Factbook - This has facts and data about countries around the world. Each country profile includes a map, flag image, a general introduction, and information about its geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
HistoryWorld - This site contains online world history resources, including a timeline.
HyperHistory Online - 3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of synchronoptic lifelines, timelines, and maps.
Infoplease Year by Year: 1900-Present - View significant world events by year or decade.
Portals to the World - This is a directory of Internet resources organized by country by the Library of Congress. Topics include history, business, geography, literature, religion, and more.
World History Sources - Find quality world history sources online by time period or region.
World History Teaching and Learning Resources - This site has world history resources from federal agencies.